Annual Board Meeting set for May 20, 2014

The UNO Alumni Association Board of Directors will hold its annual meeting Tuesday, May 20, at 4:30 p.m. at the Thompson Alumni Center. New board members and officers will be elected. A slate of proposed directors and officers will be posted by the nominating committee on the UNO Alumni Association website at

For more information call Meri Kennedy at 402-554-4887 or email


Association elects new board members,

issues service awards at 101st annual meeting

The University of Nebraska at Omaha Alumni Association Board of Directors conducted its 101st annual meeting May 21, confirming its 2013-14 executive committee and electing new members to serve three-year terms.

Andy Rikli (pictured) will direct the association as 2013-14 chairman of the board. Rikli on July 1 becomes superintendent of the Papillion-LaVista School District. He previously was assistant superintendent with Westside Community Schools. Rikli earned his doctorate in educational administration from UNO in 2007 and joined the alumni board in 2010. He will be the 90th graduate to chair the board, replacing 2012-13 chairman Garrett Anderson. See all past chairmen at Past Presidents

The board confirmed the following individuals to its executive committee and to three-year memberships. UNO graduation years are in parentheses followed by place of employment.

2013-14 Executive Committee
Chairman                     Andy Rikli (2007), Papillion-LaVista School District
1st Vice Chairman       David Craft (1990, 1992), Wells Fargo
2nd Vice Chairman      Sarah Waldman (1994), BlueCross BlueShield of Nebraska
Treasurer                     Laurie Ruge (2001), Gordmans Management Company
Legal Advisor               LouAnne Rinn, (1977), Union Pacific Railroad
Secretary                     Doug Durbin (1984), Harry A. Koch Co.
Past Chairman             Garrett Anderson (1996), Anderson Print Group

New members, 2013-16 terms
Traci Harrison (2000), West Corporation
Adam Marek (2000), Colliers International
Penny Parker (1980), Completely KIDS
Todd Rynaski (1995), Union Pacific Railroad
Eric Weber (2012), Lincoln Public Schools

Joan Lukas (1993), owner of Lukas Partners, was elected to a second three-year term.

Outstanding Service Awards also were issued at the meeting to Laura Kapustka and Anthony Flott. Instituted in 1974, service awards honor faculty, staff, alumni or friends who have shown continuous, outstanding service to the association and/or university.

Kapustka is the association’s outgoing past chairman. She served the alumni board since 2007 and was chairman in 2011-12. She earned a BS (1984) and MBA (2001) from UNO and is vice president and chief financial officer of Lincoln Electric System.

Flott has worked for the association since 1993 and is its director of communications. His primary role is as managing editor of UNO Magazine. He earned a BS (1990) and MA (1999) from UNO.

Director Appreciation Awards were issued to four outgoing board members: Blake Edwards (1999), Pinpoint Communications; Larry Gomez (1971), Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce; Jamie Herbert (1995, 2000), Union Pacific Railroad; and Brandon Steenson (2001), Kansas City Southern Railroad.

A complete list of the 2013-14 UNO Alumni Association Board of Directors is available at

Home | Login | About Us | Contact | Privacy | Related Links | Online Giving | Newsletters

University of Nebraska Omaha Alumni Assoc. - 6705 Dodge St. Omaha, NE 68182 - (402) 554-2444  | Toll-free, UNO-MAV-ALUM (866-628-2586)
© 2014 - All Rights Reserved